Three Passions

 

Passion, the dictionary tells us, is a “strong and barely controllable emotion.”  While the uncontrollable element is debatable, many of us use the word to mean “things we enjoy and feel are important.”

Let me state here that in the passion league my relationship with my wife must be taken as a given.  She is my confidant, friend, and companion.

That said, many of us have various “passions” as we go through our life-journeys. Some of these bud, blossom, and fade.  Others remain with us throughout our time on Earth. When I was a teenager, sport was a passion.  I was a relatively accomplished athlete, and I spent long hours in practice and training.  Later my children became the lights of my life. Don’t get me wrong they are still loved and cherished, but they have grown and left home and no longer are an everyday focus of my life.

Education later became a passion.  Those who follow my blog will know I have more education than sense.  But with six degrees, and multiple additional courses under my belt, formal learning has been largely relegated to my past as well.

This leads to my three remaining passions.  The first of these is public speaking.  Yes, I know there are people who fear making a public address even more than death, and the majority of adults have some level of apprehension when it comes to oratory.  But, I love it.  I am a Toastmaster, a preacher, a teacher, and a stage hound when I get the opportunity.  Speaking for me is, like blogging, a release of my pent up thoughts and energies.

The second passion of my present stage in my journey is travel.  I love to explore and experience new places, cultures and foods.  It gives me a richness of knowledge, and experience I could not replicate at home.  I have lived on three continents, and at least five counties.  I have visited nearly thirty nations.  Each has taught me something new. Besides that travel gives me something to speak and write about.

Finally my most enduring passion is my faith.  Belief is something you hold true.  Faith is something you would venture your life over.  And my religious faith is just that.  It is my anchor, and through sport, family, military service, education, speaking, and travel, it has always been there.  This does not mean that my beliefs have not adapted and grown over time.  But the foundational principles of Christianity have guided me.  Thus while I write about public speaking and travel, I still will continually (as in my life) return to the themes of faith, the Bible, and ethics.

What are your passions? Which of them will endure the tests of time?  My challenge to you is to find them, nurture them, and then grow from them.

Padre

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

