High Noon Lane

 

high noon

CCC #19

They had been married for exactly one year, and as an anniversary surprise David took Anne to see the new house he had built for them.

“Where are you taking me?” she asked as they entered an unfamiliar estate.

“It’s a surprise,” he responded.

“I hate surprises, you should know that.”

They turned the corner and stopped in front of the new build.

“Surprise!” he said.

“What?” she questioned.

“It’s our new home! It’s where I have been going on the weekends.  I built it!”

“What?  You have been away so much, I didn’t think our relationship meant anything to you,” she said.  “In fact, I have been so lonely that I was going to file for a divorce.”

David looked forlornly at the house, then at her; and then staring at the street sign on the corner said, “Do not forsake me, oh My Darling!”

Padre

4 thoughts on “High Noon Lane

Leave a comment